Connect with us

Review : Yakult probiotic good or bad for health ?

Food & Beverages

Review : Yakult probiotic good or bad for health ?

Being health conscious has become a trend these days, and for all theright reasons. So, it’s obvious that each and every health product captures our attention. One such advertisement which caught my attention ‘Yakult’ probiotic for your good heath, and I was tempted to use the product, was when I saw Kajol endorsing Yakult, a probiotic drink. A thought crossed my mind that how it actually helps in building immunity and what exactly do they mean by ‘probiotic’, so I went ahead and bought one to find out if Yakult probiotic is good or bad for health ?Yakult

The concept of probiotic foods is not new, but few seem to know about the benefits. Probiotics are live microorganisms that may confer a health benefit on the host.

I tried out Yakult myself. It is sweet to taste, but do not confuse it with any regular health drink. The reason why this product is priced at Rs 10 for such a small quantity is justified for its health benefits.

Yakult is a Japanese probiotic milk-like product made by fermenting a mixture of skimmed milk with a special strain of the bacterium ‘Lactobacillus casei Shirota’. It has been the number one fermented product to be consumed globally. So, even though the product is new to us, globally, people have been using it for decades.

Pros:

Yakult helps in maintaining the gut flora (good bacteria in the stomach needed for proper digestion) and modulates the immune system. It helps in regulation of bowel habits & constipation and finally helps in healing some gastrointestinal infections. It is gluten free and suitable for vegetarians.

Cons:

The product does contain a lot of sugar (10gms of sugar in 65ml) and if you are a diabetic, it would be best to consult your family doctor before taking it.

Price:

Rs 10 for 65 ml.

Continue Reading
You may also like...

Smita Diwan a Television Journalist and Communication Specialist with an experience of 10 years in media and leading satellite channels started whatshelikes.in as a digital hub for women in India. Smita specialises in Lifestyle, Home Decor, Health, Food and Product reviews. When she is not working,she is researching or practising yoga!

29 Comments

29 Comments

  1. Diwan Prasad

    September 11, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    I also found it useful. Just because of similarity of surname with writer I am tempted to reply.

    • amit

      September 13, 2015 at 9:43 am

      Whr in sangli the product is available, any idea?

    • amit

      September 13, 2015 at 9:44 am

      Have bren trying to hunt for in local grocert shops, but no one stocks it

  2. farida

    September 11, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    is it gud ?

    • Smita

      September 11, 2014 at 3:55 pm

      Yes, It’s a good product and that’s why we decided to review.

      • suraj

        January 25, 2015 at 4:47 pm

        Some studies suggest that only some probiotic drinks had the bacteria that could survive after reaching the guts, and Yakult is not one of those.

        • Amit

          April 14, 2015 at 12:31 pm

          I concur with Suraj. I’ve read that the bacteria do no survive in the human stomach. They need about 10 days to culture, by which time they have already left the lower intestine. What was the basis of review for this product? What is listed is seems to be merely given by the company. “…healing some gastrointestinal infections” what conditions does this help in?

  3. Neha

    December 21, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    Is there any Indian probiotic brand such as Yakult ? This is a Japanese brand.

  4. Rajesh

    January 3, 2015 at 11:59 am

    Do we have to refrigerate to keep the product intact? Or can I store it in room temperature?

    • shachi

      February 16, 2015 at 9:15 pm

      you have to keep in refrigerator only. because it contains live bacterias.

      • Denise

        March 13, 2015 at 8:43 pm

        Yes, it’s safe for you

  5. Sandeep Neemkar

    February 21, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    This product is for which age group….I am 13 years old will it be safe enough for me?

    • Denise

      March 13, 2015 at 8:44 pm

      Yes, it’s safe for you

  6. Rishabh

    May 22, 2015 at 12:09 pm

    any proofs that it helps…nah…i guessed so..probiotic drinks are not new they first came to market in the 1990 s in the Uk.the leading scientists and the UK paper guardian say it is useless and manufacturers are using plain publicity.

  7. Pranab Mandal

    June 24, 2015 at 11:20 am

    This product is for which age group….. Can a 6 years old girl consume it?

    • Alicia

      December 13, 2015 at 8:19 am

      Yes, it is safe for young children.

  8. ANKIT JAIN

    September 5, 2015 at 7:10 pm

    I am taking it every day in the morning and found that no constipation problem even after unusual eating habits. Its working for me.

    • sagar das

      September 7, 2015 at 11:58 am

      hi ankit does it really work if one person has high constipation issues

  9. sagar das

    September 7, 2015 at 11:31 am

    i also have heavy digestion issue , will it work ?

    • Alicia

      December 13, 2015 at 8:21 am

      Yes.

  10. BHAWANA

    September 16, 2015 at 2:32 pm

    GOOD DRINK TASTE NICE

  11. amit kashyap

    November 20, 2015 at 2:07 am

    Wt is minimum age to give this drink

    • Alicia

      December 13, 2015 at 8:20 am

      Infants, as long as they are on stolid foods.

  12. Zia

    December 11, 2015 at 9:42 am

    Hi smita. Probiotics don’t aid in digestion. If you want a digestive supplement you can look for digestive enzymes. Probiotic bacteria aka lactobacillus acidophilus go to our intestines and secrete acid which kills the bad bacteria.

  13. Palani Kumar

    March 28, 2016 at 4:51 am

    I’m not sure about the product or the review, I just bought the product recently and I’m trying. I’m hoping for positive results. Thanks for your review Smita, I will return soon to share the tale.

  14. Vineet Kapoor

    April 12, 2016 at 12:53 pm

    I m trying Yakult drink…It is good in taste and helps in digestion………….It works for me……you should try it once…….healthy piyo…..healthy jiyo…………

  15. music healing mantras

    December 14, 2016 at 10:55 am

    You have noted very interesting points! ps nice web site.

  16. Philo

    February 11, 2017 at 5:42 pm

    Thank you for clearing my doubts as my daughter has gluten prob

  17. sujay

    September 16, 2017 at 10:32 pm

    After consuming for more than 10 days in evening i am having acidic symptoms ,burn feeling in my stomach & throat.Is yakult acidic in nature

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Food & Beverages

Trending

Follow US

To Top